Let the kids play

I must say when I saw an article in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch the other day about the need for  kids to play outside, I was very happy. So with that in mind (and my kids of course), lets talk about play:

First up up, that article in the Post-Dispatch entitled “A Way of Play May Soon be Extinct” by Nancy Cambria at the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. It takes me back to my childhood. Good article.

Funny how as soon as you get talking about something, you hear something else about that same topic. This just popped up over at the Daily Green. It’s called “Seattle To Close Streets This Summer for Playing” by Patricia Maryville-Cox.

Let’s follow this up with an article on how kids and nature relate over in Germany. The article is entitled ” German Kindergarteners Answering the Call of the Wild” by Kenny Luna at Treehugger.

So if you’re interested in how to get your kids outside, check out the Children & Nature Network, started by Richard Louv. Which reminds me, I need to request his book again. It’s called “Last Child in the Woods“. I just requested it and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Go out and play!

Green Librarian


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

