Checkout

So like all good librarians, I went down my local library on my lunch hour as usual and while I was scanning the collection to see what new kids books they had, I came across Seed by Seed: The Legend and Legacy of John “Appleseed” Chapman by Esme Raji Codell.  Now that I’ve read it I have to say what a great book and the next time I read to my kids this will definitely be one of the books.

Now while apple picking season is over here in the midwest (it actually ended when my daughter went to a friend’s birthday party over at Eckert’s Farm  a while back but that’s for another day) I would be remiss if I failed to mention pumpkin seeds, what with Halloween, Thanksgiving and all having just passed not to mention the pumpkin seeds sitting on my table to be stored away until next spring.

Anyway, check out the latest record setting pumpkin in Ron Wallace is the ‘Lord of the Gourd’ With Record-Breaking Giant Pumpkin by Ramon Gonzalez over at Treehugger. This pumpkin weighed over one ton. Wow!

Sleep tight little seeds, little seeds!

 

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

