Whale of an idea

I  received a comment the other day about how someone enjoyed my mixing the “green” world with the “book” world and I have to say, I never thought of it that way but I am a librarian after all and so in the future I will try to keep that in mind a bit more.

That said, I was doing some research last night when I was looking for a book that I checked out a long time ago but never finished.  The book is entitled The Sounding of the Whale: Science and Cetaceans in the Twentieth Century by D. Graham Burnett. I swore the library had it but I couldn’t find it in their catalog yesterday so I’ll just have to request it from another library. What I  do remember about it though is that the author had a really good sense of humor.

Anyway, I also came across two more whale books during that time, one that I have read entitled The Whale: In Search of the Giants of the Sea by Philip Hoare and one that I have only requested entitled ” Into Great Silence : A Memoir of Discovery and Loss Among Vanishing Orcas” by Eva Saulitis.  The first book was great and I’m hoping the second one will be too. I’m hoping to add both to my reading list.

Finally, I thought I would add a video here of a couple of guys that helped an endangered northern right whale get loose from some old fishing gear near Virginia Beach. It’s entitled “Angler jumps in with knife, frees critically endangered northern right whaleby Pete Thomas over at GrindTV.

Swimmingly!

 

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

