Trees & Dogs

I was finishing up at work today when I noticed a small obituary in my local paper, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. The man was Marc Simont and while the name didn’t ring a bell, a couple of the books he illustrated certainly did. The first one was A Tree Is Nice by Janice May Udry. It’s one that I read to my kids over and over as it was one of our favorites. A Caldecott Medal winner that I would put up there with another classic, The Giving Tree.

A few years later, we began to read another one of his works, The Stray Dog.  Mr. Simont no doubt has a place in my heart (and my kids as well). His obituary can also be found over at the New York Times by Margalit Fox and is entitled “Marc Simont, Classic Children’s Book Illustrator, Dies at 97″.

Fair Thee Well, Mr. Simont!

 

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

