Kids & nature

This being the weekend I don’t see my kids has led me to do a lot of reflection on our time spent together. In fact, just this week I was going through my Conservation Connections Newsletter (for nature events in the St. Louis area) that I get online from the Missouri Department of Conservation and I recognized one of the events,  the Owl Prowl, which the kids and I have done several times over the years.

Something else I recently came across, the article “The Frog Who Fell Through Time” by Richard Louv, also took me back but to my childhood instead of theirs and the times I spent in my neighborhood woods with my friends. We spent hours out there and I have some of my best memories of my childhood from my time out in the woods.

So imagine my surprise when I saw this article, “Four in Five Children Are Not ‘Connected to Nature’“. I was troubled to say the least , granted that this study was done in the U.K., it’s still worrisome.  Just a couple of weeks ago though, the kids and I spent the best time at one of our local favorites, Powder Valley Conservation Nature Center, where we’ve done some of our Owl Prowls.

Chow for now!

 

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

