Africa back in the day

I was cleaning out some old shelves in the basement this weekend and stumbled on an old box with some childhood memories. When I opened the box, I found five wooden animals that I hadn’t seen in years.  There was an elephant, giraffe, rhinoceros, antelope and leopard, all hand carved from Kenya.

Africa

Now why my mom and I couldn’t remember exactly how I got them, they did take me back to a place and time of innocence in my youth. Unfortunately it seems like all I see these days are very depressing stories such as “Rhino Poaching has Increased 5000% in Past 6 Years” by Julie M. Rodriguez and “Poachers Kill Over 300 Elephants by Dumping Cyanide in Zimbabwe Watering Holes” by Kristine Lofgren, both at Inhabitat.

Sincerely-

 

Green Librarian

 
Leave a Reply

