To the great outdoors we go

So I’m reading a new book now and it’s entitled “Let Them Be Eaten by Bears : A Fearless Guide to Taking Our Kids into the Great Outdoors” by Peter Brown. This is one of those books that I checked out on a whim and usually when I go with my gut, I do pretty well. This one is no exception.

One of the first topics he hits upon is one that I learned about a few years ago reading Richard Louv’s first book Last Child in the Woods, called nature deficit disorder. Something that I’ve tried to make sure my kids are immune to by doing our share of outdoor adventures such as Amphibian Night, the Owl Prowl and the occasional trip to a park.

Something they aren’t immune to however is the television. In fact, just today I read an excellent article over on The Christian Science Monitor and via Children & Nature Network (which is in fact an organization started by Richard Louv) that really refutes a lot of what is said in a recent ad by Toys ‘R’ Us.

The article is entitled, “Toys ‘R’ Us Messes with Mother Nature: Trees vs. Toys +” by Amanda Paulson. Check it out, it too is worth the read.

Sincerely-

Green Librarian

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mark S on November 15, 2013 at 3:24 am

    Thanks for sharing the article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

