Going batty for halloween

Okay, I don’t have my kids this year for Halloween so I thought I would this post shout out to a couple of articles on one of perhaps our most misunderstood animals, bats.

Yes, I will admit they scare me and my kids. I’ve seen a few over the years, when I was a kid and we were playing outside at night and even on vacation up north, but like everyone else, they’re part of the ecosystem and they play an important role.

The first article is one that I found this morning and was happy to see. Apparently there has been some good news in the world of white-nose syndrome and bats. According to this article back in July, “Hint’s of Hope Emerge in Deadly American Bat Plague” over at Mother Nature Network by Russell McLendon. Let’s hope it’s still rings true.

The other article is how all citizen scientist can help them out. You too can be a Bat Detective and help classify which bats are which over at SciStarter. I know when my kids come over on Wednesday,  we’ll be checking this out.

Good Night!

 

Green Librarian

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

