Butterflies

Milkweed

Since I saw this short article and video entitled “MISSOURIAN MINUTE: Missouri conservation program builds habitats for monarch butterflies” by over at the Missourian newspaper, I thought I would post a picture of the milkweed plant my daughter and I planted last year to help out the Monarchs here in St. Louis.

I also thought I would share a short story about an experience my kids and I had with butterflies several summers ago (stop me if you heard it before). Seems we found two caterpillars on some local flowers and then put them in a jar to watch them turn into butterflies. By winter and after they had gone into their cocoons, we thought they no longer alive.

The next spring however, we had the chance to watch the first one and then the second one both hatch into butterflies and fly off. It was very cool and an experience my kids have never forgotten.

Sincerely-

  

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

