Vertebrates

So when I first started reading this article, I was taken back to a science fair project my daughter and I did entitled Are Zebras Black with White Stripes or White with Black Stripes?  While she didn’t get to move on to the next level of competition, she did receive a blue ribbon. FYI, They’re black with white stripes.

I also remember the one my oldest son did on Devils Tower, asking the question, is Devils Tower the Remnant of an Old Volcano? He too didn’t move on but he did receive a red ribbon. Later that year, we received word from a college professor (whom we had been in contact with) and that had grad students doing research on that very topic and he said that they still don’t know.

Anyway, one of my favorite topics as a kid was vertebrate fossils. In fact, we just found some in a river bed near by and I’m thinking maybe this weekend, I’ll try to see what I can dig up on that.The article that actually got me started on all this is entitled “New origin theory for cells that gave rise to vertebrates” from Northwestern University.

I have to admit, Over the years, my two older kids did some great projects.

Thank you!

  

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

