Last night and last week

When I read this article tonight, I was reminded of both last night and last week. Last night because we had some storms roll through that while we didn’t get the brunt of them, I was amazed at how much change lightning can produce.

Last week I read an article to my kids before our trip to Minnesota entitled “50 Crazy-Wonderful Things about the Earth (and Its Creatures) to Be Grateful for!” from Maria Rodale and number one was that there are 8.6 million lightning strikes in a day (and when lightning strikes, the air around it gets five times hotter than the sun!).

This article showed me just how much of an affect lightning can have. The article is entitled “Lightning Can Warp Rocks at Their Core” by Elizabeth Goldbaum at LiveScience. How cool (or hot) is that!

Sincerely-

  

Green Librarian

P.S. While this isn’t a rock that was struck by lightning, at least I don’t think so, I just like how it has holes in it (courtesy of the lake at our cabin in Minnesota).

Minn2015ARock

Leave a Reply

