Yearning for the sea

Despite the fact that I’ve spent most of my life living in the middle of the country, I been fortunate enough to visit both coasts several times in my life. When I was really young, I got the chance to see the ocean up in the Northeast (New York) then for several years we visited my grandparents out West in San Diego.

Later on, several friends and I went to Daytona Beach for Spring Break our senior year of high school. The last time was over twenty years ago (wow, it’s been that long!) when I went back up to Northeast again, this time to Cape Cod.

Anyway, I’ve always been drawn to the ocean and so when I came across this article and video on what they call “ghost nets”, I knew I had to post them. Ghost nets are nets left by fishing ships, nets that will continue to kill animals for many years to come.

The article is entitled “The Unseen Slaughter Under the Sea” by Taylor Hill and the video is entitled “Watch Divers Free Sharks and Other Marine Animals Caught in Deadly ‘Ghost Nets’” by Todd Woody, both over at Takepart.

One last note, what do you do with those old nets? Check out this article over at Remodelista entitled “DIY: Pot Holders Knit from Ocean-Tossed Twine” by Justine Hand. FYI, she does sell them as is noted towards the end of the article. I’m planning to this Christmas. They’ll make a great gift.

Cheers!
  

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

