Walking

With winter just around the corner, the kids and I took what may be our last outside venture over at Russell E. Emmenegger Nature Park or any park for that matter. The boys got the chance to skip some rocks and my daughter and I did a little walking around.

Using the book The Lost Art of Finding Our Way by John Edward Huth as motivation, I even got all of the kids to take a short walk in the woods. Looking back at my childhood, I realize that my kids really lack that ability to find their way in the woods.

So when I read this article today, entitled “On why we walk” over at Treehugger, it really hit home. I’m hoping to do a little walking homework with the kids next summer.

Sweet dreams!

  

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

