Leatherbacks

As I’ve said before, of all the animals in the animal kingdom, turtles have always been my favorite. As a kid, I use to catch box turtles in our woods for pets but, now I just admire them from a distance.

Now if I could have one gift for Christmas, I think it would be to help scientist study the Leatherbacks on some distant beach. I think it was those trips to the coast to see my grandparents that changed my relationship with turtles.

To me they are so majestic and beautiful. As mentioned in the article “Leatherback sea turtles choose nest sites carefully, study finds” by the University of Illinois-Champaign, the females they can migrate up to 7,000 miles between hatching.

Wow!

  

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

