Turtle shells

As I’ve no doubt talked about before, turtles are one of my (many) favorite animals. In fact, I have a small collection of them on my bedroom window sill. They were also one of the first wild animals I was introduced to as a kid.

One of the things that make them unique obviously are their shells. Ever wonder why they have shells? Well, I thought they were for protection but according to this article, it was for burrowing.

The article is entitled “Scientists have finally discovered why turtles have shells: Turtles use their shells as shields today, but these devices evolved fo r a completely different reason” by Bryan Nelson over at the Mother Nature Network. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, I thought birds had feathers for flying. Who knew?!

Sincerely-

  

Green Librarian

Leave a Reply

